Tomorrow’s pillars are rotten – Are they really?

My new year resolution is to regularize my posting here in this blog. So I have decided make a post every calender month for now and scale it to two later on towards the end of the year. Here is this month’s post.

Today, half of India’s population is less than the age of 30. This effectively means that citizens of India below 30 years of age are the pillars of tomorrow’s India. A widely known fact. Two of my favourite leaders recognize this and they concentrate all their energy on the youth of India. They are Swami Vivekananda, whose birthday on January 12 is celebrated as National Youth Day and the man fondly called as the people’s president, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalaam who said ‘I can get the youth to dream. They have fewer biases’.

I am happy to say that our elders, recognize this too and they take up responsibilties on their own level to contribute to the youth of India. They guide us whenever possible, support us and are always there whenever we needed them. But off-late I have been hearing certain group of elders cursing the present youth as reckless, not good enough and everything else while claiming themselves to be the models of perfection whom are to be followed. One very nice example I can quote based on my experience is how today’s youth are viewed on the road. They are considered rule breakers, reckless drivers, people who are on road to make accidents, a threat to life on and by the side of the road etc. I am sure you would have abused someone or been at the unfortuante receiving end of it or have been a spectator of this atleast once.

I being a 20 year old felt insulted when I heard someone of my age group getting insulted as one of the above by a man aged around 40 years on the road. Are we really that bad on the road? Is the future India doomed like he says? Are we a failure? I asked to myself. I wanted an answer. Well, to be honest I wanted to confirm that no is the answer to these because I trust in my section of the population. Here is what I did to confirm that the answer is no to the first question atleast. I took out my bike for a ride around the city. I rode across various areas with traffic ranging from nil to heavy. Here is my observation which was surprisingly same in all traffic conditions.

Lane discipline:
None follows mostly.
Young people:
They use indicators to change lanes
Others:
What is an indicator? They ride slowly on the fast lane and fast in the slow lane

Helmet:
Young people: I could see many people with helmets of all varieties
Others:
I guess helmets cause headweight

Speed:
I could find all speed ranges in both the categories

Traffic Signal:
Young People:
They stop behind the stop line and wait till the timer drops to zero and green light is up
Others: Zebra crossing is for parking right? That is if there is heavy traffic. Else, why use signals? They are mere guidelines for traffic moderation which need not be adhered to on other times. Sadly, even a few policemen were like this

Cleanliness:
Young People:
Cant complain any
Others:
I thought road is a nice big spit pit

I was surprised by my observation. I thought since I wanted no as an answer, I could not get the full picture. So I decided to look up actual data. Here they are

Number of Fatalities in Road Accidents in 2009

Age Group (in Years) Number of Fatalities
15 to 29 38255
30 to 44 44673
35 to 59 26485

Source: National Crime Records Bureau
URL: http://ncrb.nic.in/CD-ADSI2009/table-1.7.pdf


Population of India

Age Group (in Years) Number of People Percentage
15 to 29 353379538 34.4
30 to 44 247460569 24.1
45 to 59 173721358 16.9

Source: Census of India – 2001 – Table C14
URL: http://censusindia.gov.in/Tables_Published/C-Series/C-Series_link/c14_india.zip

For this data, I just took the data to be true for today with the same numbers but age groups moved by 10 years. So 353379538 was the number of people between age 5 to 19 ten years ago. It is not really the correct way but still gives a good enough picture. The average number of fatalities in road accidents per lakh persons is considerably higher in the age group 30 to 44 compared to the much accused in this section 15 to 29. It is the people in the second category above, abuse the first one most and the third category support the first category. That is my conclusion. I do not wish to analyse or reason out further saying what they say is for good only or they are being over cautious or whatever. I am just happy that presently, the future of India is in safe, raring and ambitious hands. If you have anything to add or say, please drop them in the comments section.

Until my next post, take care!

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow’s pillars are rotten – Are they really?

Leave a Reply

